Silva Lab

Matthew Silva, Ph.D

Julia and Walter R. Peterson Orthopaedic Research Professor

Department of Orthopaedics Washington University

silvam@wustl.edu
BJC - Institute of Health
11th floor - RM 11619
Phone: (314) 747-3772

Click here to visit the Musculoskeletal Structure and Strength website.
 

 

Michael Brodt

Lab Manager
(314) 362-8588
brodtm@wustl.edu
M.S. Mechanical Engineering, University of Iowa
B.S. Biomedical Engineering, University of Iowa

Jennifer McKenzie, Ph.D.

Staff Scientist
(314) 454-8198
j.mckenzie@wustl.edu
Ph.D. Biomedical Engineering, Washington University in St. Louis
B.S. Mechanical Engineering, University of Missouri

Yung Kim

Research Lab Imaging Specialist
(314) 747-3772
yungkim@wustl.edu

Heather Zannit

Ph.D. Candidate, Biomedical Engineering
(314) 747-6070
zannith@wudosis.wustl.edu
B.S. Materials Science & Engineering, University of Florida
Brandon Coates

Ph.D. Candidate, Biomedical Engineering
(314) 935-7208
bcoates@wustl.edu
Hua Shen

Instructor in Orthopaedic Surgery
(314) 747-5707
hshen22@wustl.edu
Taylor Comte

PhD Candidate, Biomedical Eng.
(314) 935-6164
comte@wustl.edu
Susumu Yoneda

Post Doc Research Associate
(314) 747-6030
yonedas@wustl.edu
Lisa Lawson

(314) 362-8587
lylawson@wustl.edu
Postdoc Research Associate
Chris Chermside-Scabbo

MD, PhD Candidate
MSTP Program
Washington University

Crystal Idleburg

Research Specialist
idleburg_c@wustl.edu
314 747-6034
BJCIH 11th Floor, RM 11511
Campus Box 8233
Orthopaedic Surgery

Samantha Coleman

Research Technician II
scoleman22@wustl.edu
314 747-2753
BJCIH 11th Floor, RM 11511
Campus Box 8233
Orthopaedic Surgery

Nicole Migotsky

Graduate Research Assistant
Biomedical Engineering
BJCIH 11th Floor, RM 11511
Campus Box 8233
Orthopaedic Surgery

Katie Hixon

Postdoc Research Associate
khixon@wustl.edu
Biomedical Engineering
BJCIH 11th Floor, RM 11511
Campus Box 8233
Orthopaedic Surgery

David Sykes

Undergraduate Research Assistant
dsykes@wustl.edu
Campus Box 8233
Orthopaedic Surgery

 


Former Staff, Students and Post-Doctoral Fellows

Staff

  • Dan Leib, Research Assistant, Lab Manager
  • Denise Liu, Research Tech II
  • Clayton Maschhoff, Research Tech 1
  • Shiv Shah, Ph.D. Candidate, Biomedical Engineering
  • Nilsson Holguin, Post-Doctoral Research Associate
  • David Sun, Undergraduate, Biomedical Engineering
  • Ramya Palaniappan, Summer Research Assistant
  • David Sykes, Summer Research Assistant
  • Chris Idleburg, Summer Research Assistant

Post-Doctoral Fellows (current positions)

  • Evan Buettmann, Ph.D.
  • Sara McBride, Ph.D.
  • Vanessa Yingling, Ph.D. 1997-99 (Assistant Professor, Dept. of Kinesiology, Temple University)
  • Haralambos Dinopoulos, M.D. 1998-99 (Orthop. Surg., Asclepeion Hospital of Voula, Greece)
  • Yeou-Fang Hsieh, Ph.D. 1999-2000
  • Konstantinos Ditsios, M.D. 2000-2002 (Orthop. Surg., Aristeteleion Univ. Thessaloniki, Greece)
  • Shiva Kotha, Ph.D. 2002 (Assoc. Prof., Dept. of Biomed. Engr., Rensselaer Polytech, New York)
  • Nozomu Kusano, M.D. 2002-2004 (Orthop. Surg., Tominaga-Kusano Hospital, Niigata, Japan)
  • Gregory Wohl, Ph.D. 2003-2007 (Asst. Prof., Mech. Engr., McMaster Univ., Hamilton, Ontario)
  • Hironori Matsuzaki, M.D. 2004-2005 (Orthop. Surg., Tsubame Rosai Hosp. Niigata, Japan)
  • Manolis Zampiakis, M.D. 2006-2007 (Orthop. Surg., Athens, Greece)
  • Akhilesh Kotiya, Ph.D. 2008 – 2011 (Post Doc, Dalhousie Univ., Nova Scotia, Canada)
  • Ritu Saxena, Ph.D. 2009 – 2010 (Post Doc, Univ. Illinois College of Medicine, Illinois)

Graduate Students (current positions)

  • Pei Hu, Visiting Researcher
  • Brian Uthgenannt, Mechanical Engineering, M.S., August 2006 (Product Development, Biomet, Warsaw, IN)
  • Blaine Christiansen, Biomedical Engineering Ph.D., December 2007 (Research Assistant Professor, Orthopaedic Surgery, University California, Davis, CA
  • Jennifer (Lynch) McKenzie, Biomedical Engineering, Ph.D., December 2009 (Staff Scientist, Washington University, St. Louis)
  • Ryan Tomlinson, Biomedical Engineering, Ph.D., May 2013 (Post-Doctoral Fellow, Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, MD)
  • Steve Linderman, Biomedical Engineering