PrintEmailBookmark and Share

Kappa Delta Award

Dr. Stavros Thomopoulos received the 2009 Kappa Delta Young Investigator Award on February 24th. The award was presented during the opening ceremonies of the 2009 Annual Meeting of the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons (AAOS) in recognitoin of outstanding research (AAOS Now article, press release).

As described by the Orthopaedic Research Society web-site: "Kappa Delta Sorority has contributed to the advancement of orthopaedics since 1950. The highly coveted orthopaedic research awards through the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons (AAOS) have been the starting point for many prominent researchers and physicians in the field. Starting with one $1,000 research award in 1950, Kappa Delta now supports three $20,000 grants - the Ann Doner Vaughan Award, the Elizabeth Winston Lanier Award and the Young Investigator Award - and is dedicated to the future of musculoskeletal health."

A number of faculty in the Department of Orthopaedic Surgery at Washington University have received the Kappa Delta Award:

2009   Stavros Thomopoulos
2002   Yousef Abu-Amer
1992   Linda Sandell
1985   Richard Gelberman

Kappa Delta Award

Kappa Delta